Tongablog

Join our adventure in The Kingdom of Tonga

Government Primary School, Ha’apai

Hi everyone! I figured that it was probably time to write a little bit about my position as a teacher at the Government Primary School, here in Ha’apai. It really has felt great to get back in the mode of working. I am primarily teaching Classes 4-6, which has students approximately ages 9-12. Quite frankly, I have never seen such a large scope of student ability. Some of the students are well above their grade levels, and are able to read, write, and converse in English with amazing proficiency and agility. Yet other students (in the same grade level) cannot read or write at all– in Tongan or English. The large level of differentiation will undoubtedly be a challenge. It does feel gratifying to work in the area of educational advancement for Tongan youth. Hopefully the increase in linguistic skills will provide further opportunities throughout their lives. I have spent a lot of time setting up and organizing a library. Most of the books were donated by the Australian and New Zealand governments, so I am fortunate enough to have some fantastic resources. Please let me know if you would like to help support the school and its students!

I have been reading a lot and attempting to exercise. I’m still trying to find a literary agent for the Haiti travelogue I wrote last summer. It is a cumbersome process and is unfortunately quite discouraging. I cleaned and gutted my first fish, which I can’t say was an experience that I enjoyed. karens fish

Below are some pictures from my school and of a ridiculously huge spider on our wall. It was absolutely terrifying! Thanks again to all of our friends and family, for all of your continual love and support.

Kids at school:

kids at school

School:

school

Foa looking North:

Foa north

Our Kitchen Spider:

kitchen spider

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

